Southend Pier Theme Parks
Southend on Sea
After passing through the award winning new Pier entrance, take a bracing walk, or ride on the Pier train, along the worlds longest pleasure pier. Enjoy extensive and unique views of the Thames Estuary coastline.
Why not try fishing, or bird watching. Take a moment to discover the various species of wildlife.
Visit the new R.N.L.I Lifeboat Station & Shop or relax on the sundeck. Have a meal or drink at one of the restaurants, or browse in the souvenir shop.
At the shore end, take a trip down memory lane with a visit to the Pier Museum, which is open from May to October.
The present iron pier was first opened in 1889 but only extended as far as what is now known as the Old Pier Head. The first extension was built to accommodate the increased number of steamboats visiting the Pier. This was opened in 1898 and is known as the New Pier Head. An upper deck was added and opened in 1908 and further extensions to this area were completed in 1927. The final addition to the length was opened in 1929. The Prince George Extension, as it is called, brought the length to 2360 yards (2158 metres) or 1.34 miles, the Longest Pleasure Pier in the World.
Substantial investment has been injected into Southend Pier during 2000/2001. Illuminations installed along the Pier were switched on at a ceremony held at the Pier on 17th November 2000. The lights can be viewed every day of the year from dusk.
Mid-August 2001 saw the completion of the new RNLI funded Lifeboat Station and the Sundeck funded by Southend on Sea Borough Council.
In October 2001 the opening ceremony for the new Pier Sewerage Disposal System and the new Firemain took place. The Sewerage Disposal System installed will pump effluent ashore where it will be discharged into the onshore drainage system and treated at the normal Works in Eastern Avenue. The Pier’s fire-fighting facilities have also been substantially upgraded and powerful submersible pumps will now supply the new facilities with seawater.
Work started in early autumn 2002 to rebuild the remaining fire damaged area at the Pier Head. The area had remained damaged from the 1976 fire and will now be restored to its original size.
Later on in the autumn of 2002 another major project commenced. The Pier Bridge was removed and the Front Entrance demolished. Funding from the Local Transport Plan was made available to replace the Bridge and the new one will be reconstructed at a higher level. This will prevent further accidents involving high-sided vehicles, a problem that has plagued the Pier for many years.
European funding was secured for a new Pier Entrance, installation of CCTV and refurbishment of the Shelters and Toilets on the Pier. The new award winning Pier entrance opened at the end of May 2003.
School parties welcome, (by prior arrangement).
Exhibits include ex-pier rolling stock.
AddressSouthend Pier, Southend on Sea, Essex, SS1 2EL
Attraction typeTheme Parks
Have you been to Southend Pier? Please rate this attraction to assist others.